McMaster health policy experts awarded 2017 Egon Jonsson Award

A team of health policy experts led by McMaster University’s Julia Abelson (Professor in McMaster’s Department of Health Research Methods, Evidence, and Impact; faculty member of the McMaster Health Forum; and member of the Centre of Health Economics and Policy Analysis) have been awarded the 2017 Egon Jonsson Award in recognition of excellence in contributions made to the International Journal of Technology Assessment in Health Care. The award also recognized co-authors John N. Lavis and François-Pierre Gauvin of the McMaster Health Forum as well as researchers and collaborators from other institutions across Ontario.

The award-winning paper (‘Public and Patient Involvement in Health Technology Assessment: A Framework For Action’) describes the development and outputs of a comprehensive framework for involving the public and patients in the work of the Ontario Health Technology Advisory Committee (OHTAC) at Health Quality Ontario. The framework was informed by a synthesis of international practice and published literature; a dialogue on this topic hosted by the McMaster Health Forum with local, national and international stakeholders; and the deliberations of OHTAC’s public engagement subcommittee.

The paper is accessible online as are the outputs from the stakeholder dialogue hosted by the McMaster Health Forum:

The Egon Jonsson Award is given annually by Health Technology Assessment international (HTAi) to the authors of an outstanding paper in the society's official journal published over the past year. The Award is named in recognition of Professor Egon Jonsson, Editor-in-Chief of the International Journal of Technology Assessment in Health Care from its founding in 1985 until 2010. The 2017 award was recently presented at HTAi’s conference in Rome.

HTAi is “the global scientific and professional society for all those who produce, use, or encounter HTA. HTAi has members from over 65 countries and embraces all stakeholders, including researchers, agencies, policy makers, industry, academia, health service providers, and patients/consumers.”

2017 Egon Jonsson Award